U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885

U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885

The Mortality Schedules – In 1850, 1860, 1870, and 1880 census enumerators were directed to secure in addition to the usually
required census data, information as to all persons dying within the 12 months preceding the census taking.  These lists became
known as the “Mortality Schedules”.


Mortality schedules record deaths in the year preceding the taking of the census. For example, the 1860 mortality schedules include persons who died between June 1, 1859 and May 31, 1860. For each person, the following information is listed: name, age, sex, marital status if married or widowed, state or country of birth, month of death, occupation, cause of death, and the length of the final illness. This database contains U.S. federal non-population schedules from 1850-1880 for the following states: California, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, and Washington Territory.

n some cases it may be the only record of a person’s existence. This information was collected in the censuses of 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, and 1885.


Census Collections

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s